The history of FIFA World Cup and Qatar


The FIFA world cup competition was first organized in 1930 by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) and was won by Uruguay who defeated Argentina 4:2 to be the champions along with them being the host nation. Since then, the competition has been every four years except during World War II, the competition consists of international sectional tournaments leading to a final elimination event made up of 32 national teams.

Qatar will host FIFA World Cup 2022

There have been various host nations since then that have organised the world cup. After FIFA picked Qatar as the first middle eastern country to be hosting the men’s football 2022 world cup, some saw it as a huge wager while others saw it as a huge mistake including the former FIFA president Sepp Blatter who was the eighth president of FIFA and served from 1998-2015.

There was a committee consisting of 22 people to vote on who they wanted to host the 2022 world cup tournament and there were five bidders which are Qatar, the United States, South Korea, Japan and Australia. The voting was done using the exhaustive ballot system in which each country is eliminated per round and Qatar emerged as the winner of the election and was announced on December 2, 2010, as the host of the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

There were allegations against Qatar that it was involved in bribery during the bidding process and that it had bribed some of the FIFA executives for them to be voted as the host nation. Aside from this allegation, there have been some human rights concerns that might circumvent people from coming to Qatar World Cup 2022 which are no alcohol, no smoking, and no same-sex relationships among others. The issues will dissuade people from coming as was seen when Qatar hosted the IAAF World Athletics Championships of 2019 which took place in a half-empty stadium. Qatar has promised to diffuse the situation and give freedom to non-citizens as they have promised to comply with FIFA rules by promoting tolerance and inclusion at their matches during the World Cup despite their strict laws.

Qatar World Cup 2022 date and schedules

Following a change, the tournament will begin on Nov. 20 with a match between Qatar and Ecuador, providing a slow start to what will be a busy two weeks with four games on most days. All of the games will be played in a tight circle of eight stadiums in and around Qatar’s capital, Doha, over the next month, making it the most compact World Cup in history.

FIFA finalized a decision to play in the northern fall season in 2015 to avoid Qatar’s summer heat, despite opposition from most European football bodies that were irked by having to shut down their domestic leagues for several peak weeks.
The tournament final will take place on December 18, Qatar’s National Day.

Countries that qualified and their groups

Qatar qualified as the host automatically and after years of qualifying, 31 other teams have joined them.
Qatar was drawn in Group A alongside Ecuador, the Netherlands, and Senegal, while England was drawn in Group B alongside the United States, Iran, and the winners of the Ukraine and Wales playoff matches.
Group C will contain Lionel Messi team Argentina with Saudi Arabia, Mexico and Poland while reigning champions France will start the defence of their crown in Group D alongside Denmark, Tunisia, and Australia.
Group E consist of Spain, Costa Rica, Germany and Japan
Group F is made up of the last world cup bronze medal Belgium with Canada, Morocco, and the runner-up for the last World Cup Croatia.
The favourites for this year’s competition, Brazil, are in Group G alongside Serbia, Switzerland, and Cameroon while Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal is in Group H with Ghana, Uruguay and South Korea.

Who are the favourites?

Brazil is the leading favourite to win the Qatar World Cup 2022 as they have won it five times in a row while the second favourite should be 2018 champion France with both England and Spain being the third and fourth betting favourites, followed by Argentina, Germany, Belgium, and the Netherlands.
Brazil has been in the CONMEBOL World Cup Qualifying campaign and has set a new record by remaining undefeated and topping it with 45 points. The Brazilian team is one of the favourites due to the presence of Neymar Jr, Vinicius Jr, Gabriel Jesus, and Richarlison. Richarlison and Raphinha has been on fire for some time now, and Neymar has continued to improve; his shooting accuracy has increased by this season. The defence is stronger, and they have a better goalkeeper in Allison, who was the best in the Premier League last season.

France has the best attack in the world, with their top three goal scorers averaging more than 2.5 goals per game and a shooting metric of more than 57%. The midfield is also among the best in the world, with over 1.7 assists per match. Defensively, they have one of the best Tackles Success and Clearances metrics. France has had difficulty dealing with good dribbling sides. Brazil and Argentina could pose a threat to the French side, which has struggled to defend against good dribblers.
Qatar World Cup 2022 is set to be an interesting one because each player is willing to do everything to win.

Who will win the Qatar World Cup 2022 final?

Uruguay 1930: Uruguay Winner
Italy 1934: Italy Winner
France 1938: Italy Winner
Brazil 1950: Uruguay Winne
Switzerland 1954: West Germany Winner
Sweden 1958: Brazil Winner
Chile 1962: Brazil Winner
England 1966: England Winner
Mexico 1970: Brazil Winner
West Germany 1974: West Germany Winner
Argentina 1978: Argentina Winner
Spain 1982: Italy Winner
Mexico 1986: Argentina Winner
Italy 1990: West Germany Winner
USA 1994: Brazil Winner
France 1998: France Winner
Japan 2002: Brazil Winner
Germany 2006: Italy Winner
South Africa 2010: Spain Winner
Brazil 2014: Germany Winner
Russia 2018: France Winner

Who will celebrate as winner of Qatar World Cup 2022?

Leave a Comment